China loses more than dignity

Written on December 15, 1937

Today, I have revised the 1935 Act to include civil wars and forbid any United States ships to carry passengers or materials to warring countries. I have created the Cash and Carry Act. This act states that belligerents can purchase war goods (except arms) so long as they pay cash and transport their purchases on their own ship. It also includes that the United States cannot enter war zones. Also, under this act the United States can avoid getting into war because of debt and it increases jobs in manufacturing. However, recipients have to use their own ships to transport materials and nations that purchase materials from the United States have to assume the risk during transportation. I have also become aware of the Chinese Incident that has taken place. Japan has sent their troops into Beijing in an attempt to expand throughout Asia. This shows me that Japan is acting as an aggressor towards China. I believe that we should keep everyone out of conflict and I am considering getting involved in the war. I am also aware that six weeks ago Japan captured Nanking. Today, I have been told that a mass murder and rape has occurred causing many people to be stripped away from their dignity. 260,000 Chinese civilians lost their lives. I believe that this occurrence has taken the United States a step further to intervene.

GG

http://www.nanking-massacre.com/Nanking_Massacre_Photo_Group_Five.html

Leave a comment